One Year Booze Free

What to replace alcohol with in Winter 2012

No, I’m not going to say water. I love it but it’s so boring, especially when you’re out with your friends or having a social gathering at someone’s house. You gotta have something delicious and fun. Something that looks more appealing than a large glass of red wine or a dark rum n coke (guess my two favourites). Here’s what I’ve discovered in the short time I’ve been a soberite.

Herbal Tea

No! Don’t roll you eyes. I’m serious.They’re great – …especially in the morning – apparently, hot water is good for your metabolism. Peppermint tea is a good one to start with. I’ve just discovered Tea Pigs. They’re absolutely amazing. I’ve just had a cup of popcorn tea. It sounds horrid but it tastes divine….much stronger than your average herbal tea.

Chai Latte

This is a very street, low caffiene alternative to coffee (I think about 1% caffiene). You can get it in most good coffee stop and it has become so popular recently, that you can now get it in all your local supermarkets including Waitrose, Tesco and Asda.

Mocktails

Went for dinner in a chain restaurant called Coal in mid January. The food was average, the service was dire but they served a whole range of mocktails. I had virgin apple martini’s.Since having that, I have got quite into my mocktails. They’re easy to make but just remember that these are going to be more fattening than a herbal tea because of all the juice and fizzy drinks they put in them.

Squash

Oh, how I have comed to love squash since I feel for my man. He LOVES vimto. I like them all but always worry with these. If you have sugar-free you are filling yourself with aspartame and if you have ones with sugar in you will ruin your teeth. So make sure you moderate!

Of course, there are many more but I will keep those quiet for another season. It’s too cold for homemade lemonade or fruit smoothies right now, don’t you think?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

